Roberto Clemente Award Nominees announced

Craig Calcaterra
NBC Sports

The Roberto Clemente Award goes to the Major Leaguer who “best exemplifies the game of baseball, sportsmanship, community involvement and the individual’s contribution to his team.” Curtis Granderson won the award last year. This year’s nominees were just announced:

Arizona DiamondbacksPaul Goldschmidt
Atlanta BravesJason Motte
Baltimore OriolesChris Davis
Boston Red SoxRick Porcello
Chicago CubsAnthony Rizzo
Chicago White Sox – José Abreu
Cincinnati RedsScooter Gennett
Cleveland IndiansCarlos Carrasco
Colorado RockiesIan Desmond
Detroit TigersMiguel Cabrera
Houston AstrosJose Altuve
Kansas City RoyalsDrew Butera
Los Angeles Angels – Cameron Maybin
Los Angeles DodgersJustin Turner
Miami Marlins – Dee Gordon
Milwaukee Brewers – Matt Garza
Minnesota TwinsJoe Mauer
New York Mets – T.J. Rivera
New York Yankees – Brett Gardner
Oakland Athletics – Liam Hendriks
Philadelphia Phillies – Cameron Rupp
Pittsburgh Pirates – Josh Harrison
St. Louis Cardinals – Adam Wainwright
San Diego Padres – Hunter Renfroe
San Francisco Giants – Buster Posey
Seattle Mariners – Robinson Canó
Tampa Bay Rays – Evan Longoria
Texas Rangers – Cole Hamels
Toronto Blue Jays – Marcus Stroman
Washington Nationals – Ryan Zimmerman

Maybin remains the Angels’ nominee despite joining the Houston Astros at the end of August.

The league-wide winner of the Roberto Clemente Award, who will be announced during the 2017 World Series, will be selected among the group of nominees via a blue ribbon panel that includes individuals connected to the game. The blue ribbon panel includes Baseball Commissioner Robert D. Manfred, Jr., representatives from MLB-affiliated networks (MLB Network, FOX Sports, ESPN and TBS) and MLB Advanced Media, and Vera Clemente (the late Roberto’s wife). There is also a fan voting component to this, with the winner of the fan vote, which begins in October, getting one “blue ribbon panel” vote.

What to Read Next