Richard Seymour among 15 former Patriots nominated for Pro Football Hall of Fame

NBC Sports Boston Staff

Similarly to how they've taken over the league, the New England Patriots have taken over the 2020 Pro Football Hall of Fame nominations. 

Fifteen former Patriots have been nominated for the Hall of Fame, and although not all of them will make it to the final round of voting, each player made a lasting impact with the organization. 

Of the 15 players nominated, only five spent most of their NFL careers in New England. Those players are: Richard Seymour, Willie McGinest, Tedy Bruschi, Ben Coates, and Rodney Harrison.

Scroll to continue with content

The rest of the list is as follows: Corey Dillion, Brian Waters, Fred Taylor, Chad Johnson, Torry Holt, Reggie Wayne, John Lynch, Larry Centers, Henry Ellard and Jeff Feagles. 

Coates spent nine seasons with the Patriots, catching 50 touchdown passes with 490 receptions. Like Coates, Seymour also spent lengthy time in New England, playing eight seasons and winning three Super Bowls. McGinest and Bruschi spent 12 and 13 seasons in New England respectively, while Harrison spent his final five seasons as a member of the organization.

The list will be trimmed to 25 semifinalists in November, followed by trimming to 15 finalists in January. Five players will then be elected to the centennial class ahead of Super Bowl 54 at Hard Rock Stadium in Miami. 

Click here to download the new MyTeams App by NBC Sports! Receive comprehensive coverage of your teams and stream the Celtics easily on your device.

Richard Seymour among 15 former Patriots nominated for Pro Football Hall of Fame originally appeared on NBC Sports Boston

What to Read Next