Advertisement

Report: Wisconsin’s rivalry contest vs. Minnesota moving to Black Friday

Wisconsin’s annual rivalry contest against Minnesota is moving to Black Friday in 2024, according to a report from Matt Fortuna.

The Badgers and Golden Gophers will play at noon Eastern, 11 a.m. Central on Friday, November 29 instead of its long-standing tradition of Saturday afternoon.

Related: Big Ten football 2024 schedule power rankings

The famous battle for Paul Bunyan’s Axe will join Nebraska and Iowa as the two Big Ten games on the holiday. The Cornhuskers and Hawkeyes have traditionally played on that date. They now have company as Fox, NBC and CBS all look to maximize their television windows.

Wisconsin’s home matchup with Minnesota will be broadcast on CBS that afternoon, followed by Nebraska at Iowa at 7:30 p.m. Eastern, 6:30 p.m. Central on NBC.

Contact/Follow @TheBadgersWire on X (formerly Twitter), and like our page on Facebook to follow ongoing coverage of Wisconsin Badgers news, notes, and opinion.

Story originally appeared on Badgers Wire