Praise pours in as Caitlin Clark captures Naismith Trophy as National Player of the Year

Caitlin Clark’s magical season reached another milestone on Wednesday afternoon. The 6-foot superstar guard from West Des Moines was officially awarded the Naismith Trophy as the nation’s Jersey Mike’s Naismith Women’s College Player of the Year.

Clark beat out fellow finalists Aliyah Boston of South Carolina, Virginia Tech’s Elizabeth Kitley and Maddy Siegrist of Villanova. She joins Megan Gustafson as the second national Player of the Year winner in the history of Iowa women’s basketball.

Clark has enjoyed a remarkable season, averaging 27.3 points, 8.6 assists, and 7.3 rebounds per game. Her points per game average ranks third nationally, while her assists per game mark is tops in the country. Clark led the country in assists per game last season as well.

“Well, thank you. First of all, congratulations to you two, [Aliyah Boston and Maddy Siegrist], and also Elizabeth Kitley. Tremendous seasons. It’s been very fun following all of you. And I think what you’ve done for our game, it’s been tremendous and it’s been really fun to watch and follow.

“But when I was here in Minnesota last year, you know, my goal was to be here with my team. And just that’s the most important thing to me, is to be at the Final Four competing with my team. And I know this award is impossible without every single one of you back there, and I truly mean that. So, it’s just as much yours as it is mine, and same with our coaches. And I came to the University of Iowa with a dream to be here and competing for a national championship, and these two believed in me more than anything, Coach [Lisa] Bluder, Coach [Jan Jensen]. I love you and your belief in this team and this program.

“It means so much to me and what we’ve been able to achieve. But lucky enough, I have a few more years, too. And then obviously my family, you’ve been my support. My two brothers aren’t here today, but just as much as my parents, I love them to death. And it’s been a long journey but a super fun one. Ups and downs and hardships. But I’m just super thankful and to the committee that votes for this. Obviously, our game has grown so much. I know this is a super hard decision and can go to any single player, and even I think, I believe more than just four people in America. So, I’m just very lucky and honored and thankful more than anything,” Clark said in her acceptance speech.

Love for her game poured in as Clark was crowned as the nation’s finest.

National Player of the Year

Best in the land!

Hello, Megan


Now, introducing...

The ONLY school


The moment, the speech

Nothing she can't do!

Absolutely deserving

Chuck Long celebrates

That's OUR NPOY!

Naismith past checking in on Naismith present

Looks like a great recruiting pitch to us

We can dream, though, right?

It would be glorious

Dreams come true!

All is right

The absolute best!


Couldn't be Iowa

Even South Carolina fans know it

Hold on, need to check something out...

[lawrence-auto-related count=5]

Contact/Follow us @HawkeyesWire on Twitter, and like our page on Facebook to follow ongoing coverage of Iowa news, notes, and opinions.

Follow Josh on Twitter: @JoshOnREF

Story originally appeared on Hawkeyes Wire