PLAYER RATINGS | Bayern Munich 0-2 Borussia Dortmund

PLAYER RATINGS | Bayern Munich 0-2 Borussia Dortmund

For the first time in a while, this ‘Der Klassiker’ meeting did not really have a lot on the line heading into it. However, Borussia Dortmund all but ended Bayern Munich’s hopes of still being in the title race with a deserved 2-0 win.

Bayern were in control for most of the first half having several key chances to take the lead but it was Dortmund who went in at half-time 1-0 up. After winning the ball in their own half, they countered through Julian Brand who played through Karim Adeyemi, whose shot was parried into the net by Sven Ulreich. Both Harry Kane and Eric Dier had chances to equalise with Dier’s effort being clear off of the line.

The second half saw Bayern continue to dominate the ball but fail to create any meaningful chances due to the performance of both Mats Hummels and Nico Schlotterbeck. Dortmund ended up having the best chance of the second half when Felix Nmecha’s shot was saved by Ulreich before Julian Ryerson doubled Dortmund’s lead. A Kane header was disallowed in right at the end of the game, but it was unlikely to do anything to the final result.

This was Dortmund’s first league win at the Allianz Arena in 10 years and showed that this interaction of Dortmund are probably suited to being more defensive. They can take this confidence into the Champions League where they face Atletico Madrid.

For Bayern their Bundesliga season is all but over, they no sit 13 points behind Bayer Leverkusen with seven games left to play after their 2-1 win against Hoffenheim earlier in the day.

Bayern Munich XI:

Sven Ulrecih (6), Joshua Kimmich (6), Matthijs de Ligt (5), Eric Dier (5), Alphonso Davies (4), Konrad Laimer (5), Leon Goretzka (5), Leroy Sané (5), Thomas Müller (6), Jamal Musiala (5), Harry Kane (4)

Others: Serge Gnabry (5), Kingsley Coman (5), Mathys Tel (5), Noussair Mazraoui (5), Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting (-)

Borussia Dortmund XI:

Alexander Meyer (6), Julian Ryerson (6), Mats Hummels (8), Nico Schlotterbeck (7), Ian Maatsen (6), Julian Brandt (7), Emre Can (6), Felix Nmecha (6), Jadon Sancho (6), Niclas Füllkrug (6), Karim Adeyemi (6)

Others: Salih Özcan (5), Marco Reus (5), Sebastien Haller (5), Jamie Bynoe-Gittens (-), Marius Wolf (-)

GGFN | Jack Meenan