Triple Crown winners throughout history

American Pharoah has a chance to gallop into glory by becoming the first Triple Crown winner in 37 years. Take a look at all of the horses who finished the journey and claimed this elusive title.


Year: 1978
Horse: Affirmed
Jockey: Steve Cauthen
Trainer: Lazaro S. Barrera
Owner: Harbor View Farm

Seattle Slew

Year: 1977
Horse: Seattle Slew
Jockey: Jean Cruguet
Trainer: William Turner, Jr.
Owner: Karen L. Taylor


Year: 1973
Horse: Secretariat
Jockey: Ron Turcotte
Trainer: Lucien Laurin
Owner: Meadow Stable


Year: 1948
Horse: Citation
Jockey: Eddie Arcaro
Trainer: Ben A. Jones
Owner: Calumet Farm


Year: 1946
Horse: Assault
Jockey: Warren Mehrtens
Trainer: Max Hirsch
Owner: King Ranch

Count Fleet

Year: 1943
Horse: Count Fleet
Jockey: John Longden
Trainer: Don Cameron
Owner: Mrs. J. D. Hertz


Year: 1941
Horse: Whirlaway
Jockey: Eddie Arcaro
Trainer: Ben A. Jones
Owner: Calumet Farm

War Admiral

Year: 1937
Horse: War Admiral
Jockey: Charley Kurtsinger
Trainer: George Conway
Owner: Samuel D. Riddle


Year: 1935
Horse: Omaha
Jockey: William Saunders
Trainer: James Fitzsimmons
Owner: JBelair Stud

Gallant Fox

Year: 1930
Horse: Gallant Fox
Jockey: Earl Sande
Trainer: James Fitzsimmons
Owner: Belair Stud

Sir Barton

Year: 1919
Horse: Sir Barton
Jockey: John Loftus
Trainer: H. G. Bedwell
Owner: J.K.L. Ross