Best athlete selfies

Selfie is the 2013 word of the year, Oxford Dictionaries announced Tuesday, edging out some stiff competition from twerk.




Usage of the word has increased 17,000 percent over the past 12 months, said Oxford Dictionaries, which publishes the mammoth Oxford English Dictionary (OED), styled as the definitive record of the English language.




Selfie is defined as "a photograph that one has taken of oneself, typically one taken with a smartphone or webcam and uploaded to a social media website".

Associated Press


In honor of selfie being named the word of the year, we have collected some of our favorite athlete selfies from Instagram.

Gymnast McKayla Maroney. Photo via Instagram/@mckaylamaroney
Gymnast McKayla Maroney. Photo via Instagram/@mckaylamaroney
Gymnast McKayla Maroney. Photo via Instagram/@mckaylamaroney
Clippers Chris Paul. Photo via Instagram/@cp3
Clippers Chris Paul. Photo via Instagram/@cp3
Clippers Chris Paul. Photo via Instagram/@cp3
Olympian Lolo Jones. Photo via Instagram/lolojones
Olympian Lolo Jones. Photo via Instagram/lolojones
Olympian Lolo Jones. Photo via Instagram/lolojones
Miami Heat player LeBron James. Photo via Instagram/@kingjames
Miami Heat player LeBron James. Photo via Instagram/@kingjames
Miami Heat player LeBron James. Photo via Instagram/@kingjames
Heavyweight UFC fighter Pat Barry. Photo via Instagram/@hypeordie Pat Barry
Heavyweight UFC fighter Pat Barry. Photo via Instagram/@hypeordie Pat Barry
Heavyweight UFC fighter Pat Barry. Photo via Instagram/@hypeordie Pat Barry
Formula One driver Lewis Hamilton. Photo via Instagram/@lewishamilton
Formula One driver Lewis Hamilton. Photo via Instagram/@lewishamilton
Formula One driver Lewis Hamilton. Photo via Instagram/@lewishamilton
Golfer Rickie Fowler. Photo via Instagram/@therealrickiefowler
Golfer Rickie Fowler. Photo via Instagram/@therealrickiefowler
Golfer Rickie Fowler. Photo via Instagram/@therealrickiefowler
Soccer player Sydney LeRoux. Photo via Instagram/@sydneyleroux
Soccer player Sydney LeRoux. Photo via Instagram/@sydneyleroux
Soccer player Sydney LeRoux. Photo via Instagram/@sydneyleroux
Miami Heat player Dwyane Wade. Photo via Instagram/@dwyanewade
Miami Heat player Dwyane Wade. Photo via Instagram/@dwyanewade
Miami Heat player Dwyane Wade. Photo via Instagram/@dwyanewade
Olympic swimmer Stephanie Rice.Photo via Instagram/@itsstephrice
Olympic swimmer Stephanie Rice.Photo via Instagram/@itsstephrice
Olympic swimmer Stephanie Rice.Photo via Instagram/@itsstephrice
Marlins player Giancarlo Stanton. Photo via Instagram/@giancarlo818
Marlins player Giancarlo Stanton. Photo via Instagram/@giancarlo818
Marlins player Giancarlo Stanton. Photo via Instagram/@giancarlo818
Swimmer Michael Phelps. Photo via Instagram/@m_phelps00
Swimmer Michael Phelps. Photo via Instagram/@m_phelps00
Swimmer Michael Phelps. Photo via Instagram/@m_phelps00
Orioles player Adam jones. Photo via Instagram/@simplyaj10
Orioles player Adam jones. Photo via Instagram/@simplyaj10
Orioles player Adam jones. Photo via Instagram/@simplyaj10
Skier Lindsey Vonn. Photo via Instagram/@lindseyvonn
Skier Lindsey Vonn. Photo via Instagram/@lindseyvonn
Skier Lindsey Vonn. Photo via Instagram/@lindseyvonn
Knicks player Carmelo Anthony. Photo via Instagram/@carmeloanthony
Knicks player Carmelo Anthony. Photo via Instagram/@carmeloanthony
Knicks player Carmelo Anthony. Photo via Instagram/@carmeloanthony
Boston red Sox player Shane Victorino. Photo via Instagram/@shanevictorino
Boston red Sox player Shane Victorino. Photo via Instagram/@shanevictorino
Boston red Sox player Shane Victorino. Photo via Instagram/@shanevictorino

What to Read Next