Phoenix Cup starting lineup: Joey Logano wins pole

Joey Logano will start first as he chases a second NASCAR Cup Series championship Sunday.

Logano won the pole Saturday for Sunday’s Cup finale at Phoenix Raceway. The 312-mile race will determine the 2022 Cup champion. Logano ran 134.389 mph.

Chase Elliott will start fifth, Christopher Bell 17th and Ross Chastain 25th. They join Logano as the only drivers eligible for the Cup title Sunday. The highest finisher will be champion.

MORE: Phoenix Cup starting lineup

MORE: Phoenix Cup qualifying results

Elliott won at Phoenix in 2020, and Alan Gustafson, his crew chief, has four Phoenix wins.

Logano has won twice at Phoenix. Elliott has one win at the track, while Bell and Chastain are winless.

Bell enters the season finale with two wins in the past four races. Both were elimination events.

Chastain was runnerup at Phoenix in the March race.

Read more about NASCAR

Joey Logano wins pole for NASCAR Cup Series finale at Phoenix Phoenix Xfinity starting lineup: Ty Gibbs wins pole Sunday Phoenix Cup race: Start time, TV info, weather

Phoenix Cup starting lineup: Joey Logano wins pole originally appeared on