Penn State’s tight end duo named on Mackey Award watch list

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
·2 min read
In this article:
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

The idea that Penn State has a strong tight end combination was supported by the release of the watch list for the Mackey Award on Friday. Theo Johnson and Brenton Strange were each included on the watch list for the award for the nation’s top tight end.

Johnson had 19 catches for 213 yards and a touchdown last season, while Strange hauled in 20 catches for 225 yards and three touchdowns. Penn State hopes to get more production out of the position with these two leading the way as offensive coordinator Mike Yurcich goes into his second season on the staff.

Penn State also had a couple of receivers named to the watch list for the Biletnikoff Award earlier in the week. Parker Washington and Mitchell Tinsley were included on the watch list for the nation’s top receiver.

Some notable former winners of the Mackey Award, which was first awarded in 2000, include Dallas Clark (Iowa, 2002), Aaron Hernandez (Florida, 2009), Jake Butt (Michigan, 2016), and Kyle Pitts (Florida, 2020). T.J. Hockenson of Iowa is the most recent player from the Big Ten to take home the award.

Penn State has never had a Mackey Award winner. Last year’s winner of the award was Trey McBride of Colorado State.


Penn State football snapshot profile: No. 86 Brenton Strange


Penn State Snapshot Profile: No. 84 Theo Johnson


Juice Scruggs named on Rimington Trophy watch list

Pat Narduzzi said something silly about the quality of Big Ten competition

Penn State receiving duo named to Biletnikoff Award watch list

Penn State recruiting target reclassifying to Class of 2024

Draft Network says Yetur Gross-Matos could be a breakout player in 2022

Keyvone Lee named to Doak Walker Award watch list

Follow Nittany Lions Wire on Twitter and like us on Facebook for continuing Penn State coverage and discussion. Let us know your thoughts by leaving a comment on this story below. Join the conversation today.

Story originally appeared on Nittany Lions Wire