Pella's McKinstrey to be inducted into IFCA Hall of Fame

Jan. 25—PELLA — The Iowa Football Coaches Association (IFCA) announced their five newest members that will be elected to their Hall of Fame in 2024. Among those five is long-time Pella Head Football Coach Jay McKinstrey.

McKinstrey has amassed a 226-73 record over 27 seasons leading the Dutch. Pella reached the playoffs in 21 of those seasons including an incredible stretch of 41 straight wins from 2014-16 that led to three straight state titles for the Dutch.

McKinstrey is one of five coaches to be inducted in 2024 along the likes of Solon's Kevin Miller, Hinton's Bruce Held and Steve Diedeker and Oelwein's Bob Lape.

McKinstrey announced in November that 2024 will be his final season coaching. He led the Dutch to another postseason appearance in 2023 while finishing with a 6-4 record.

"I am grateful and thankful to God for all the opportunities I have had here in Pella," McKinstrey said. "This award is a reflection of all the players, coaches and parents that I have been blessed to work with. I am also thankful for our school and our community and all their support. I am grateful for my family and for them supporting me in my role as a teacher and coach for all these years."

Colin Peters can be reached at 641-672-2581, by email at or on Twitter @ColinPetersOH.