Packers' Harden named to All-Region first team

Feb. 18—MOULTRIE — Three members of the Colquitt County boys basketball team have been named All-Region, including Cason Harden who was selected for the first team.

Junior Jakari Byrd was named to the second team and senior Zay Williams received honorable mention.

Harden, a sophomore, led the Packers in scoring.

Camden County, the Region 1-7A boys regular season and tournament champion, had the Coach of the Year in David Bailey and the Player of the Year in Elyiss Williams, who averaged 15.4 points and 10.5 rebounds.

Bailey led Camden, ranked No. 14 in the state, to a 21-6 overall record. The Wildcats were 7-1 in the region regular season and won both of its games to claim the region tournament.

Camden will play host to Archer in the first round of the state tournament.

The Offensive Player of the Year award went to Kam Jackson, who averaged 16.3 points a game for Lowndes.

Valdosta's Israel Jenrette was named the Defensive Player of the Year and Jabari Williams, also of Valdosta, was selected as the Impact Player of the Year after averaging 11.7 points and 8.4 assists per game.

Joining Harden on the All-Region first team are Antwan Brown, Earl Murray and Ja'Marley Riddle, all of Camden County, and Eric Love of Valdosta.

In addition to Byrd, the second team includes Terrell Green Jr. of Lowndes, Joshua Scott of Richmond Hill, Dylan Williams of Camden County and Grant Jackson of Valdosta.

Also receiving honorable mention are Isaiah Damon of Lowndes, Chase Holmes of Valdosta, Bryce Hendricks of Richmond Hill and De'Nigel Cooper of Camden County.