ONE Championship overturns Eddie Alvarez DQ loss to no contest

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
Farah Hannoun
·1 min read
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

Eddie Alvarez got his wish.

Alvarez (30-8-2), who was disqualified for striking Iuri Lapicus in the back of the head in their ONE on TNT I fight earlier this month, will have his result overturned to a no contest, ONE officials said on Monday.

ESPN was first to report the news.

Alvarez, the former Bellator and UFC lightweight champion, got off to a great start when he secured top position and began raining down punches on what he thought was the side of Lapicus’ head. But referee Justin Brown ruled they were illegal strikes to the back of the head and, as a result, Alvarez was presented a red card.

A visibly distraught Alvarez was brought to tears backstage, asking for the fight to be overturned to a no contest. ONE CEO Chatri Sityodtong told MMA Junkie last week that the incident was under review and that the retraction of the red card would come down to Alvarez’s intent.

According to ONE officials, a panel of 15 independent industry experts and ONE Championship officials, judges, and referees reviewed the fight-ending sequence and decided that Alvarez should have been given a warning instead of a red card, thus overturning his disqualification loss to a no contest.

Alvarez is already set to return to action on Wednesday when he takes on Rae Yoon Ok (14-3) at ONE on TNT IV in Singapore.

List

How to watch ONE on TNT IV: Fight card, time, results, live stream for La N Sang vs. de Ridder