Ohio State quarterback C.J. Stroud heads back to New York as Heisman finalist

This should come as no surprise but Buckeye quarterback C.J. Stroud will make a return trip to New York City for a second consecutive year as a Heisman Trophy finalist. All four finalist are quarterbacks, with Georgia’s Stetson Bennett, TCU’s Max Duggan, and USC’s Caleb Williams who all have a chance to join a few in a select fraternity.

Ohio State has a long history with the trophy, tying Notre Dame for most winners of all time with seven. In the past five years, Stroud along with Justin Fields, Chase Young, and the late Dwayne Haskins all have been finalists. The last Buckeye winner was in 2006, when quarterback Troy Smith won.

Stroud completed 66.2% of his attempts for 3,340 yards with 37 touchdowns and only six interceptions so far this season. He was also named the Big Ten’s QB of and Offensive Player of the Year. Stroud’s numbers were down from last year but still enough for him to be invited to the ceremony. Tune in this Saturday, December 10, to see who takes home the trophy this year.


Breaking: Star Ohio State receiver, Jaxon Smith-Njigba's status known for College Football Playoff and beyond


Report: Ohio State could be losing one of its coordinators


An Ohio State linebacker enters the transfer portal

Contact/Follow us @BuckeyesWire on Twitter, and like our page on Facebook to follow ongoing coverage of Ohio State news, notes, and opinion. Follow Michael Chen on Twitter.

Let us know your thoughts, and comment on this story below. Join the conversation today.

Story originally appeared on Buckeye Wire