Puck Daddy - NHL

With about six minutes left in the second period on Wednesday night, Colorado Avalanche winger Jay McClement sent the puck towards the St. Louis Blues crease. It deflected off Matt D'Agostini of the Blues and eventually trickled over the goal line — giving the Avs a 3-2 lead that would be the margin of victory.

But here's the thing: As D'Agostini and defenseman Alex Pietrangelo collided with goalie Brian Elliott, the net nearly came off its moorings before the puck crossed the line. Did it come completely off the pegs? Should the goal have counted?

A video or other embedded content has been hidden. Click here to view it.

From the NHL's Situation Room blog:

At 14:07 of the second period in the Blues / Avalanche game , video review was inconclusive in determining if the net was completely dislodged before the puck crossed the goal line. There for,  the referee's call on the ice stands. Good goal Colorado.

78.5 (x)  When the net becomes displaced accidentally. The goal frame is considered to be displaced if either or both goal pegs are no longer in their respective holes in the ice, or the net has come completely off one or both pegs, prior to or as the puck enters the goal.

Tough call as to whether the net was off one of its pegs when the puck crossed. To wit:

How NHL decided controversial Avalanche goal vs. Blues

Related Articles

Puck Daddy

Add to My Yahoo RSS

Related Photo Gallery

Y! Sports Blog