Wichita State's Marshall named Valley coach of the year

The Sports Xchange
The SportsXchange

Wichita State coach Gregg Marshall was named Missouri Valley Conference Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season.
Marshall is the first coach of the year in the Valley who didn't win the conference regular-season championship since 1997, when Northern Iowa's Eldon Miller claimed the award.
Wichita State is 24-7 and finished in second place in the MVC after being picked fourth in the preseason poll. The Shockers are the No. 2 seed in this week's Missouri Valley tournament in St. Louis.
Creighton's Doug McDemott received 64 votes to finish second behind Marshall (87).
They lost four starters from last season's championship team and have stayed competitive despite a series of injuries that caused them to lose four starters for significant portions of the season. Two of the injured starters haven't played since before Christmas.

What to Read Next