CFB Hall of Fame class includes Dayne, Testaverde, Frazier

The Sports Xchange
The SportsXchange

Heisman Trophy winners Vinny Testaverde, Danny Wuerffel and Ron Dayne and 1995 runner-up Tommie Frazier lead the 2013 College Football Hall of Fame class to be inducted Dec. 10 in New York City.
Testaverde played at the University of Miami form 1982-1986. In '86 he led the Hurricanes to a perfect regular season, passing for 2,557 yards and 26 touchdowns. But the Hurricanes fell to Penn State in the Fiesta Bowl, handing a national title to Joe Paterno. Testaverde went 23-3 as a starter playing for coaches Howard Schnellenberger and Jimmy Johnson. For his career, he had more than 6,000 passing yards and 48 touchdowns while leading Miami to three straight bowl games.
At Wisconsin, the powerful Dayne won the Heisman in 1999 and was a first-round pick of the New York Giants in 2000. He set the NCAA Division I rushing record with 6,397 yards and logged 1,220 carries in four seasons in Madison.
Frazier, who was second to Eddie George in Heisman ballotting in 1995, was a four-year starter for the Cornhuskers and guided Nebraska to national titles in 1994 and '95.
Wuerffel played for Steve Spurrier in Florida's 'Fun 'N' Gun' offense. The Gators played in back-to-back national championship games, including a 52-20 Sugar Bowl victory over Florida State in 1996. That victory came three weeks after Wuerffel won the Heisman Trophy. He finished his career with 10,875 passing yards and 114 touchdowns, which stands as the Southeastern Conference record.
Orlando Pace, an All-American left tackle at Ohio State and the No. 1 overall draft pick in 1997, former Arizona linebacker Tedy Bruschi, the fourth Wildcats' star to join the Hall, Michigan State linebacker Percy Snow and former Colorado head coach Bill McCartney were other notable members of the 12-person class.
Former Oklahoma linebacker Rod Shoate, who died in 1999, was voted in posthumously. He was a four-time All-Big 8 pick and three-time All-American with the Sooners.
Kentucky end Steve Meilinger, Baylor quarterback Don Trull and Texas defensive back Jerry Gray, a first-round NFL draft pick in 1985 now coaching with the Tennessee Titans, joined former Temple and Navy coach Irving Wayne Hardin in rounding out the class.
Testaverde becomes the seventh Hurricanes player to be inducted, joining Bennie Blades, Don Bosseler, Ted Hendricks, Russell Maryland, Gino Torretta and Arnold Tucker in the College Football Hall of Fame.

What to Read Next