Syracuse's Johnson named Cunningham Award winner

The Sports Xchange
The SportsXchange

Tyler Johnson of the Syracuse Crunch was named the Les Cunningham Award winner as the American Hockey League's most valuable player, the league announced Friday.
The award is voted on by coaches, players and members of the media in each of the league's 30 member cities.
Johnson, 22, is tied for the AHL lead with 33 goals and has 60 points in 60 games overall heading into the final weekend of the regular season.
He is one of two players averaging one point per game, is tied for the AHL lead among forwards with a plus-24 rating and is also tied for fifth in power-play goals with 12.
Johnson was named a First Team AHL All-Star last week.
Syracuse clinched a spot in the Calder Cup Playoffs and is in the running for the East Division title. The Crunch are 37-17-2-4 with Johnson in the lineup and 4-4-4-1 without him.
The MVP award is named after the late Les Cunningham, an AHL Hall of Famer who was a five-time All-Star and three-time Calder Cup champion with the Cleveland Barons.

What to Read Next