Sun Belt will go with East and West divisions with 10 teams in 2018

Dr. Saturday
Troy and Georgia Southern will be members of the Sun Belt’s East Division in 2018. (Getty)
Troy and Georgia Southern will be members of the Sun Belt’s East Division in 2018. (Getty)

We know what the Sun Belt’s alignment will look like in 2018.

The current 11-team league will be 10 teams after the 2017 football season and will add a conference championship game in 2018. Unlike the Big 12, which will be a 10-team league with a conference title game and no divisions starting in 2017, the Sun Belt will divide itself into two five-team divisions after the addition of Coastal Carolina.

Scroll to continue with content

Coastal, which is moving up from the FCS level, will be part of the East Division with Appalachian State, Georgia Southern, Georgia State and Troy. The West Division will have Arkansas State, Louisiana, Louisiana-Monroe, South Alabama and Texas State. The winners of each division will meet in the title game and the highest-ranked team in the College Football Playoff committee’s rankings will be the host.

Current members Idaho and New Mexico State are in their final seasons as football members of the conference. Idaho is dropping down to the FCS level while New Mexico State will be an independent in FBS. The league can have a title game with 10 teams after the rule requiring conferences have 12 teams for a title game was dropped in 2016.

The Sun Belt also approved a collaborative replay system where a central replay hub will be used for all reviews starting this season.

More college football on Yahoo Sports:

– – – – – – –

Nick Bromberg is the editor of Dr. Saturday and From the Marbles on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at or follow him on Twitter!

What to Read Next