Six semifinalists named for Outland Trophy

The Sports Xchange
The SportsXchange

Pitt senior defensive tackle Aaron Donald, Alabama junior left tackle Cyrus Kouandjio, Texas A&M senior left tackle Jake Matthews, Baylor senior guard Cyril Richardson, Florida State senior center Bryan Stork and and Stanford senior guard David Yankey were named semifinalists on Wednesday for the Outland Trophy.
The award, presented annually by the Football Writers Association of America since 1946, goes to the outstanding interior lineman in college football. Three finalists will be announced on Nov. 25 and the winner will be named on Dec. 12.
Donald is the only defensive player on the list. He leads the Football Bowl Subdivision in tackles for a loss this season with 2.3 per game, is tied for sixth in sacks and has four forced fumbles.
Kouandjio anchors the offensive line for unbeaten Alabama. A Crimson Tide lineman has won the award or been a finalist the past two years.
The Outland Trophy is the third-oldest award in college football behind the Heisman Trophy and the Maxwell Award.

What to Read Next