Sevilla gets Feyenoord in Europa League groups

The Associated Press

MONACO (AP) -- Title-holder Sevilla will play another former champion in Feyenoord along with Standard Liege and HNK Rijeka in the group stage of the Europa League, which now rewards the trophy winner with a Champions League place.

Three-time winner Inter Milan was grouped with Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk, Saint-Etienne and Qarabag.

Tottenham, a two-time champion, has Besiktas, Partizan and Asteras in its group.

Legia Warsaw and Celtic avoided a repeat of their controversial Champions League qualifying matches.

The lure of a place in next season's Champions League is UEFA's new incentive to boost the second-tier event.

Matches in the 12 four-team groups begin Sept. 18.

The top two in each group advance to the knockout rounds, and join the eight third-place teams from Champions League groups.

What to Read Next