Sakic, three others elected to Hockey Hall of Fame

The Sports Xchange
The SportsXchange

Joe Sakic was elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame in his first year of eligibility on Tuesday, and he joined Mats Sundin, Pavel Bure and Adam Oates as the players voted into the Hall this year.
The players were chosen by a vote of the Hall's 18-member selection committee. The induction ceremony will be held Nov. 12.
Sakic, a 12-time all-star, had 625 goals and 1,016 assists in his 20-year NHL career, all with the Colorado Avalanche franchise dating to 1988 when it was the Quebec Nordiques. He won the Hart Trophy in 2001.
Sundin, also selected in his first year of eligibility, had 564 goals and 785 assists in his 18 seasons, including 13 with the Toronto Maple Leafs.
Oates, who was hired as coach of the Washington Capitals earlier in the day, is sixth on the NHL career assists list with 1,079 and also scored 341 goals in 19 seasons with seven teams.
Bure, a six-time All-Star, had 437 goals and 342 points in 12 seasons with three teams.

What to Read Next