Russell, Calhoun, Summitt, Lapchick to be honored

The Associated Press

UNCASVILLE, Conn. (AP) -- Bill Russell, Jim Calhoun, Pat Summitt and Richard Lapchick will be honored on Saturday when the National Basketball Retired Players Association holds its legends of basketball philanthropy awards gala at the Mohegan Sun.

Russell won 11 NBA titles with the Boston Celtics, Summitt coached the Tennessee women's basketball team to eight national championships, and Calhoun guided the Connecticut men to three titles. Lapchick is the founder and director of the Institute for Diversity and Ethics in Sport.

Pat Summitt Foundation spokesperson Susan Arp said Summitt isn't attending the event. Former Lady Vols star Chamique Holdsclaw will accept the honor on Summitt's behalf.

The National Basketball Retired Players Association is an alumni association for former NBA, ABA, Harlem Globetrotters and WNBA players.

What to Read Next