Reuters Sports Schedule at 0001 GMT on Tuesday, March 28

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 0001 GMT on Tuesday:

SOCCER

World Cup qualifiers

Australia v United Arab Emirates, Sydney (0900)

Australia seek win to keep World Cup campaign in own hands

SYDNEY - After disappointing with four straight draws in qualifying, Australia will strive for a home win over the UAE to keep their hopes of an automatic berth to Russia alive (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-AUS-ARE/ (PIX), expect by 1100 GMT / 7 AM ET, by Nick Mulvenney, 300 words)

International friendlies (1845 unless stated)

Russia v Belgium 1600

South Africa v Angola 1600

Netherlands v Italy

Portugal v Sweden

Ireland v Iceland

France v Spain 1900

World Cup hosts Russia welcome Belgium, France face Spain

The 2018 World Cup hosts Russia entertain Roberto Martinez's star-studded Belgium side on a night of international friendlies as Netherlands, who sacked their manager on Sunday, host Italy, European champions Portugal meet Sweden and Euro 2016 runners-up France welcome Spain. (SOCCER-TEAMA-TEAMB/, expect throughout)

Sweden winger Forsberg ready for Ronaldo challenge

STOCKHOLM - After a season in which Sweden winger Emil Forsberg has been of vital importance for club and country, some comparisons with Cristiano Ronaldo may be obvious but the 25-year-old Swede is very much his own man. (SOCCER-SWEDEN/FORSBERG (INTERVIEW, PIX), moved, by Philip O'Connor, 500 words)

TENNIS

ATP/WTA: Miami Open (to 2)

Wawrinka to take on Jaziri after Federer moves through

Stan Wawrinka will take on Tunisian Malek Jaziri in third round action at the Miami Open after Roger Federer charged into the fourth round (TENNIS-MIAMI/MEN (TV), expect by 0100 GMT / 9 PM ET, 400 words)

Venus takes on Kuznetsova for place in quarters

Venus Williams will battle Svetlana Kuznetsova for a place in the quarter-finals. French Open champion Garbine Muguruza retired from her match with Caroline Wozniacki after dropping the first set. (TENNIS-MIAMI/WOMEN (TV), expect by 0100 GMT/ 9 PM ET, 400 words)

CRICKET

New Zealand v South Africa, third test (to 29)

Black Caps' Williamson bids to extend lead over South Africa

WELLINGTON - New Zealand captain Kane Williamson will resume on 148 and with his side holding a seven-run lead over South Africa when play resumes on the fourth day of the third test at Seddon Park in Hamilton. (CRICKET-NEWZEALAND/, expect throughout from 0015 GMT/7:15 PM ET, 400 words)

India v Australia, 4th test (to 29)

India need 87 runs to seal Australia series

DHARAMSALA - India, who have all 10 wickets intact, need 87 runs to complete a 2-1 series victory over Australia inside four days. (CRICKET-INDIA/ (PIX), expect from 0630 GMT/2:30 AM ET, by Amlan Chakraborty, 450 words)

NBA

Cavaliers out to keep Eastern lead

The Cleveland Cavaliers bid to hold on to the Eastern Conference lead when they visit the San Antonio Spurs in one of six games on the National Basketball Association schedule. (NBA-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0530 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 800 words)

NHL

Blackhawks face off with Lightning

The Chicago Blackhawks, riding high atop the Western Conference standings, visit the Tampa Bay Lightning, winners of their last two games as they bid to make the playoffs, in one of six games on the National Hockey League schedule. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0530 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 500 words) (Asia desk editor: Ian Ransom)

What to Read Next