Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Tuesday, March 21

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Tuesday:

OLYMPICS

Paris 2024 bid briefing

LONDON - With the vote for the 2024 Summer Olympic host city less than six months away, Paris bid co-chairman and International Olympic Committee member Tony Estanguet joins CEO Etienne Thobois in briefing reporters. (OLYMPICS-2024/PARIS, expect by 1630 GMT/12:30 PM ET, by Alan Baldwin, 400 words)

SOCCER

Germany's Ozil, Gomez and Draxler to miss England friendly

DORTMUND - Germany will be without injured midfielder Mesut Ozil, winger Julian Draxler and forward Mario Gomez when they host England in a friendly international on Wednesday, coach Joachim Loew said. (SOCCER-FRIENDLY-GER-ENG/ (PIX, TV), moved, by Karolos Grohmann, 400 words)

Podolski one of Germany's all-time greats, says coach Loew

DORTMUND - Germany's Lukas Podolski will receive an appropriate farewell when the world champions meet England in a high-quality friendly on Wednesday with the winger having become one of the country's all-time greats, coach Joachim Loew said on Tuesday. (SOCCER-FRIENDLY-GER-ENG/PODOLSKI (PIX, TV), moved, by Karolos Grohmann, 400 words)

We'll have all the latest news ahead of this week's international friendlies and World Cup qualifiers (SOCCER-WORLDCUP/ and SOCCER-FRIENDLY/)

BASEBALL

World Baseball Classic

Puerto Rico moved into the final of the World Baseball Classic with a 4-3 victory over the Netherlands on Monday, where they will play either the United States or Japan. (BASEBALL-CLASSIC/, expect by 0700 GMT/3 AM ET, 400 words)

CRICKET

Unsung heroes add steel to India's armoury

RANCHI - India's Cheteshwar Pujara has one more test to play in the current Australia series before the top-order stalwart slips out of the sporting consciousness as the nation shifts its focus to the bedlam of white-ball cricket. (CRICKET-INDIA/, moved, by Amlan Chakraborty, 400 words)

CYCLING

Contador, Froome, Valverede compete in Team Time trial

BARCELONA - Tour of Catalonia favourites Alberto Contador, Chris Froome and Alejandro Valverde compete in stage two, a team time trial in Banyoles which could have a huge say in who wins the general classification. (CYCLING-CATALONIA/, expect by 1600 GMT/12 PM ET, by Rik Sharma, 400 words)

NBA

Thompson, Curry sharp from 3-point range in win over Thunder

Klay Thompson made seven 3-pointers and scored 34 points, and Steph Curry also buried seven 3-pointers on his way to 23 points to lead Golden State past Oklahoma City. (BASKETBALL-NBA-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0630 GMT/2:30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 600 words)

NHL

Ellis double lifts Preds over Coyotes

Ryan Ellis scored two goals and Pekka Rinne stopped 25 shots Monday night as the Nashville Predators warmed up after a sluggish first period for a 3-1 win over the Arizona Coyotes in Bridgestone Arena. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL-HIGHLIGHTS/, moved, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

SPORTS FEATURE

Snooker

Women's game heads to Asia hoping to turn the tables

SINGAPORE - Snooker's governing body is looking east to develop the women's game, hoping to build on the popularity of cue sports in the region to raise the profile of a circuit in desperate need of greater exposure. WPBSA chief Jason Ferguson explains their strategy to Reuters. (SNOOKER-WOMEN/ (FEATURE, PIX), moved, by John O'Brien, 750 words) (Europe desk editor: Ken Ferris)

What to Read Next