Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Sunday, April 16

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Sunday:

SOCCER

Premier League

West Bromwich Albion v Liverpool (1230)

Manchester United v Chelsea (1500)

MANCHESTER, England - Chelsea's title march faces a stern test at Old Trafford in the shape of former manager Jose Mourinho, whose Manchester United side still have ambitions of a top-four finish. (SOCCER-ENGLAND-MUN-CHE/ expect by 1645 GMT/12.45 PM ET, by Simon Evans, 400 words)

Fourth-placed Liverpool, who are severely depleted by injuries, will look to cement their place in the top four with victory at West Bromwich Albion. (SOCCER-ENGLAND-WBA-LIV/ expect by 1415 GMT/10.15 AM ET, 400 words)

La Liga

Leganes v Espanyol (1000)

Valencia v Sevilla (1415)

Real Betis v Eibar (1630)

Granada CF v Celta Vigo (1845)

BARCELONA - Sevilla will look to tighten their grip on fourth place and close the gap to Atletico Madrid directly above them with victory at mid-table Valencia. (SOCCER-SPAIN/ expect by 1615 GMT/12.15 PM ET, by Rik Sharma, 400 words)

MOTOR RACING

Bahrain Formula One Grand Prix

Bottas on pole for first time, Hamilton alongside

MANAMA - Valtteri Bottas starts on pole for the first time in his Formula One career with Mercedes team mate Lewis Hamilton alongside. Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel, joint championship leader with Hamilton, starts third. (MOTOR-F1-BAHRAIN/, (PIX), expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, by Alan Baldwin, 500 words)

We will also have stories from around the paddock.

GOLF

PGA Tour: RBC Heritage, Hilton Head Island

Dufner leads DeLaet by one, aims for Heritage win

Jason Dufner bids for his fifth PGA Tour victory when he takes a one-stroke lead over Canadian Graham DeLaet into the final round of the RBC Heritage at the Harbour Town course in South Carolina. (GOLF-HERITAGE/, expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, 350 words)

NBA

Warriors begin playoff chase against Trail Blazers

The Golden State Warriors open their NBA playoff schedule against the visiting Portland Trail Blazers in the first game of a best of seven Western Conference series. Also in the Western playoffs, the Oklahoma City Thunder visit the Houston Rockets while in the East, conference champions the Boston Celtics are home to the Chicago Bulls and the Atlanta Hawks open at the Washington Wizards. (BASKETBALL-NBA-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0530 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 450 words)

NHL

Penguins and Blues looking 3-0 leads

The visiting Pittsburgh Penguins bid for a 3-0 lead over the Columbus Blue Jackets in their first-round playoff series and the St. Louis Blues are hoping for similar success at the Ottawa Senators. In series that are tied at 1-1, Montreal plays at the New York Rangers and the Edmonton Oilers visit the San Jose Sharks. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0530 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

BASEBALL

Soaring Yankees face Wainwright

The red hot New York Yankees, winners of six in a row, face Adam Wainwright and the visiting St. Louis Cardinals while the Arizona Diamondbacks face the Los Angeles Dodgers in two of 15 games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-MLB-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0430 GMT/12:30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 800 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 500 words) (Europe desk editor: Pritha Sarkar)

What to Read Next