Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Friday, August 30

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Friday:

- - - -

TENNIS

U.S. OPEN

Williams, Djokovic and Murray in action at U.S. Open defence

NEW YORK - Britain's Andy Murray plays Leonardo Mayer and Novak Djokovic faces Benjamin Becker in the second round of the U.S. Open while the defending women's champion, Serena Williams, plays her third round match against Yaroslava Shvedova. (TENNIS-OPEN/ (PIX), expect first copy by 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, by Julian Linden, Larry Fine and Will Swanton, 700 words)

- - - -

SOCCER

European Super Cup, Bayern Munich v Chelsea, Prague (2045)

Guardiola and Mourinho lock horns as Bayern face Chelsea

PRAGUE - Pep Guardiola and Jose Mourinho renew their long-standing rivalry when European champions Bayern Munich take on Europa League winners Chelsea in the UEFA Super Cup. (SOCCER-SUPER/ (PIX), expect by 2245 GMT/6:45 PM ET, by Michael Kahn, 600 words)

- -

La Liga (2100)

Rayo Vallecano v Levante

Almeria v Elche

Copy on merit

- -

Dutch Championship

NAC Breda v NEC Nijmegen (1800)

Copy on merit

- - - -

CYCLING

Tour of Spain (to Sept. 15)

Italy's Nibali leads heading into seventh stage

ALMENDRALEJO, Spain - Italy's Vincenzo Nibali is the overall leader going into the seventh stage which is likely to end in a bunch sprint after a 205.9 km ride from Almendralejo to Mairena del Aljarafe. (CYCLING-SPAIN/, expect by 1715 GMT/1:15 PM ET, by Alasdair Fotheringham, 400 words)

- - - -

GOLF

Deutsche Bank Championship (to Sept 2)

Woods, Scott and Mickelson face off at TPC Boston

NORTON, Massachusetts - The world's top three players, Tiger Woods, Adam Scott and Phil Mickelson, are grouped together in the opening round of the Deutsche Bank Championship, the second event in the four-tournament long FedExCup playoffs. (GOLF-PGA/. expect by 1900 GMT/3 PM ET, by Simon Evans, 450 words)

- -

European Tour: Wales Open, Celtic Manor, Newport (to Sept 1)

Copy on merit

- - - -

BASEBALL

Big-name pitchers take the mound

Japanese flamethrower Yu Darvish of the Texas Rangers is one of a several big-name pitchers in action. Former Cy Young Award winners CC Sabathia of the New York Yankees, Tim Lincecum of the San Francisco Giants and Roy Halladay of the Philadelphia Phillies will also take the mound in their respective games. BASEBALL-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0430 GMT/12:30 AM ET, 300 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0001 GMT/8:00 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- - - -

OLYMPICS

Mixed martial arts eyes Olympic berth

SINGAPORE - Mixed martial arts is on the radar a place at the Olympic Games, UFC Asia Pacific managing director Mark Fischer told Reuters. (OLYMPICS-MMA/, moved, by Patrick Johnston, 500 words)

- - - - (Duty editor: Ken Ferris)

What to Read Next