Referee Boger leads seven-man Super Bowl officiating crew

The Sports Xchange
The SportsXchange

The NFL announced Wednesday that referee Jerome Boger will lead the seven-man crew of game officials selected to work Super Bowl XLVII.
The other members of the Super Bowl XLVII officiating crew are Darrell Jenkins (umpire), Steve Stelljes (head linesman), Byron Boston (line judge), Craig Wrolstad (field judge), Joe Larrew (side judge) and Dino Paganelli (back judge). The Super Bowl XLVII officiating crew collectively has 77 years of NFL officiating experience and 50 combined playoff game assignments.
Boger, in his ninth season as an NFL game official, entered the league in 2004 as a line judge and was promoted to referee in 2006. He has officiated four divisional playoff games.
The NFL uses an evaluation system to grade game officials. The highest-rated eligible officials at each position earn the right to work the Super Bowl. Super Bowl officials must have at least five years of NFL experience and previous playoff assignments.
Bill Spyksma is the replay official. The replay assistant is Terry Sullivan.
"We congratulate Jerome and his entire crew on being assigned to work at Super Bowl XLVII," said Carl Johnson, the NFL's vice president of officiating. "Just like the two competing teams, every member of this officiating crew has had an outstanding season and earned this honor. We are confident that they will have a great game on Sunday."

What to Read Next