NFL Draft: Fisher joins select company at No. 1

The Sports Xchange
The SportsXchange

When the Kansas City Chiefs selected Central Michigan's Eric Fisher in the 2013 draft Thursday, he became only the fourth offensive tackle taken with the first pick since the initial NFL-AFL combined draft in 1967.
The others were Southern Cal's Ron Yary (Vikings, 1968), Ohio State's Orlando Pace (Rams, 1997), and Michigan's Jake Long (Dolphins, 2008). Yary was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2001.
He was also the first senior prospect drafted since Long.
Quarterbacks have dominated recent top picks, with 10 being named No. 1 in the previous 12 drafts.
Overall, since the combined draft quarterback had the most No. 1 selections with 20, followed by defensive ends (eight), running backs (seven), offensive tackles and defensive tackles (four each), wide receivers and linebackers (two each).
Here are the NFL Draft's No. 1 overall picks since 1967:

2013 Chiefs, Eric Fisher, OT, Central Michigan
2012 Colts, *Andrew Luck, QB, Stanford
2011 Panthers, *Cam Newton, QB, Auburn
2010 Rams, *Sam Bradford, QB, Oklahoma
2009 Lions, *Matthew Stafford, QB, Georgia
2008 Dolphins, Jake Long, OT, Michigan
2007 Raiders, *JaMarcus Russell, QB, LSU
2006 Texans, *Mario Williams, DE, North Carolina State
2005 49ers, Alex Smith*, QB, Utah
2004 Chargers, Eli Manning, QB, Mississippi
2003 Bengals, Carson Palmer, QB, Southern Cal
2002 Texans, David Carr, QB, Fresno State
2001 Falcons, Michael Vick, QB, Virginia Tech
2000 Browns, Courtney Brown, DE, Penn State
1999 Browns, Tim Couch, QB, Kentucky
1998 Colts, Peyton Manning, QB, Tennessee
1997 Rams, Orlando Pace, OT, Ohio State
1996 Jets, Keyshawn Johnson, WR, Southern Cal
1995 Bengals, Ki-Jana Carter, RB, Penn State
1994 Bengals, Dan Wilkinson, DT, Ohio State
1993 Patriots, Drew Bledsoe, QB, Washington State
1992 Colts, Steve Emtman, DT, Washington
1991 Cowboys, Russell Maryland, DT, Miami
1990 Colts, Jeff George, QB, Illinois
1989 Cowboys, Troy Aikman, QB, UCLA
1988 Falcons, Aundray Bruce, LB, Auburn
1987 Buccaneers, Vinny Testaverde, QB, Miami
1986 Buccaneers, Bo Jackson, RB, Auburn
1985 Bills, Bruce Smith, DE, Virginia Tech
1984 Patriots, Irving Fryar, WR, Nebraska
1983 Colts, John Elway, QB, Stanford
1982 Patriots, Kenneth Sims, DT, Texas
1981 Saints, George Rogers, RB, South Carolina
1980 Lions, Billy Sims, RB, Oklahoma
1979 Bills, Tom Cousineau, LB, Ohio State
1978 Oilers, Earl Campbell, RB, Texas
1977 Buccaneers, Ricky Bell, RB, Southern Cal
1976 Buccaneers, Lee Roy Selmon, DE, Oklahoma
1975 Falcons, Steve Bartkowski, QB, California
1974 Cowboys, Ed (Too Tall) Jones, DE, Tennessee State
1973 Oilers, John Matuszak, DE,Tampa
1972 Bills, Walt Patulski, DE, Notre Dame
1971 Patriots, Jim Plunkett, QB, Stanford
1970 Steelers, Terry Bradshaw, QB, Louisiana Tech
1969 Bills, O.J. Simpson, RB, Southern Cal
1968 Vikings, Ron Yary, OT, Southern Cal
1967 Colts, Charles (Bubba) Smith, DE, Michigan State

What to Read Next