NCAA picks MSG for 2016 wrestling championships

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) -- Madison Square Garden will host the 2016 NCAA Division I wrestling national championships - the iconic arena's first NCAA title event since the 1950 Final Four.

The announcement came Wednesday when NCAA officials announced 523 host sites for 82 championships. Sites for the Division I men's basketball tournament, Division I baseball and softball tourneys, Division I football playoffs and women's Final Fours had already been chosen.

Chicago's United Center gets the 2017 men's Frozen Four, a first for the Blackhawks' home arena. The University of Oregon will host Division I outdoor track and field championships from 2015-2021, and all three NCAA divisions will compete for field hockey titles at Louisville in 2017.

The Division III football championship game will stay four more years in Salem, Va.


On the web:

What to Read Next