Reid Spencer, NASCAR Wire Service
The SportsXchange

Distributed by The Sports Xchange

378: The number of laps in the longest NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Phoenix International Raceway. For the only time in its history, PIR lengthened the scheduled distance of its Cup race from 312 to 375 laps for the April 10, 2010 Subway Fresh Fit 600. Ryan Newman won the race, which was extended to 378 laps by a late caution and subsequent green-white-checkered-flag finish. A Phoenix race has gone to overtime on just two other occasions: in November 2004, when Dale Earnhardt Jr. won in 315 laps (less than four months after NASCAR adopted the green-white-checker rule in its top three national series); and November 2008, when Jimmie Johnson needed 313 laps to win the Chase race at PIR en route to the third of his five straight Cup championships.

What to Read Next