Reid Spencer, NASCAR Wire Service
The SportsXchange

Distributed by The Sports Xchange

0: The number of times in the 21st century the winner of the fall NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Talladega Superspeedway has gone on to win the championship in the same year. That might seem to defy conventional wisdom, given that Talladega is about survival, and typically, the race is viewed by Cup competitors as the biggest potential obstacle to a title. Nevertheless, a Talladega victory hasn't propelled the winner to a championship since the second Talladega date moved from summer to fall in 1997. In fact, eight of the 11 races run at ‘Dega in this century have been won by drivers who have never won a Cup title - Dale Earnhardt Jr. (2001, 2002, 2004), Michael Waltrip (2003), Brian Vickers (2006), Jamie McMurray (2009) and Clint Bowyer (2010, 2011).

What to Read Next