Reid Spencer, NASCAR Wire Service
The SportsXchange

Distributed by The Sports Xchange

3: The current number of consecutive NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races at Michigan International Speedway that have been won from starting positions outside the top 10. Kyle Busch won the August race in 2011 from 17th, the same position earned by last year's June winner, Dale Earnhardt Jr. Greg Biffle won the 2013 August event from 13th on the grid. Why is this stat significant? Because it goes against the history of the two-mile track. The first 44 races at MIS, from 1969 through 1991, all were won from top-10 starting spots. Dale Jarrett finally broke the streak in August 1991 after qualifying 11th.

What to Read Next