Reid Spencer, NASCAR Wire Service
The SportsXchange

Distributed by The Sports Xchange

2: The number of drivers who have won NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races at Kansas Speedway from the pole. Joe Nemechek accomplished the feat in 2004, the fourth year of competition at the 1.5-mile track. Jimmie Johnson won from the top starting spot in 2008 en route to his third straight Cup championship. Johnson and Jeff Gordon (2001) are the only two drivers to win at Kansas and go on to win a Cup title. Nemechek is the only driver to sweep a Nationwide/Cup weekend at the speedway.

What to Read Next