NASCAR number

The Sports Xchange
The SportsXchange

By Reid Spencer
NASCAR Wire Service
Distributed by The Sports Xchange

2: The number of consecutive years the winner of the first Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Chicagoland Speedway has gone on to win the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship. After a lackluster regular season in 2011, Tony Stewart took the checkered flag at Chicagoland, won the following week at New Hampshire and collected five total wins in the Chase to edge Carl Edwards for the title in a tiebreaker. Last year, Brad Keselowski announced his presence as a serious threat to win the championship by out-dueling Jimmie Johnson for the win at the 1.5-mile speedway. Keselowski beat Johnson to the stripe by 3.171 seconds and two weeks later won again at Dover en route to his first NASCAR Sprint Cup title.

What to Read Next