NASCAR number

The Sports Xchange
The SportsXchange

By Reid Spencer
NASCAR Wire Service
Distributed by The Sports Xchange

12: The number of years since Hendrick Motorsports teammates Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Jeff Gordon have won a NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Dover International Speedway. Gordon collected the last of his four Dover wins in the spring race of 2001. In September of the same year, Earnhardt beat Hendrick driver Jerry Nadeau to the finish line by 1.576 seconds. Though Gordon and Earnhardt may have been winless at the Monster Mile over the past dozen years, HMS teammate Jimmie Johnson has accumulated all seven of his wins at the high-banked, high-speed concrete track during that span.

What to Read Next