NASCAR announced 2013 Spring Cup schedule

The Sports Xchange
The SportsXchange

NASCAR on Tuesday announced the Sprint Cup Series' 2013 schedule, which will include the addition of the Chevrolet SS, Ford Fusion and Toyota Camry into the competition.
It will start with the Feb. 16 Shootout at Daytona International Speedway. Qualifying for the Daytona 500 takes place Feb. 17, followed by the season-opening Daytona 500 on Feb. 24.
"The new NASCAR Sprint Cup cars for next season have dominated fan conversation for more than a year, and the time is approaching to unleash them on the race track," said Brian France, NASCAR chairman and CEO.
After Daytona will be races at Phoenix (March 3) and Las Vegas (March 10). Then comes Bristol (March 17), Auto Club-Dayton (March 24), Martinsville (April 7), Texas (April 13), Kansas (April 21), Talladega (May 5), Darlington (May 11), Charlotte All-Stars (May 18), Charlotte (May 26), Dover (June 2), Pocono (June 9), Michigan (June 16), Sonoma (June 23), Kentucky (June 29), Daytona (July 6), New Hampshire (July 14), Indianapolis (July 28), Pocono (August 4), Watkins Glen (Aug. 11), Michigan (Aug. 18), Bristol (Aug. 24), Atlanta (Sept. 1), Richmond (Sept. 7), Chicagoland (Sept. 15), New Hampshire (Sept. 22), Dover (Sept. 29), Kansas (Oct. 6), Charlotte (Oct. 12), Talladega (Oct. 20), Martinsville (Oct. 27), Texas (Nov. 3), Phoenix (Nov. 10) and Homestead (Nov. 17)
For the third consecutive year, the Chase for the Sprint Cup will start at Chicagoland on Sept. 15. The Chase will conclude at the season finale on Nov. 17 at Homestead-Miami.
Next season will be the 65th for the Sprint Cup series.

What to Read Next