MVP finalists all win Silver Slugger Awards

The Sports Xchange
The SportsXchange

The St. Louis Cardinals, Detroit Tigers, Pittsburgh Pirates and Baltimore Orioles received multiple awards when Major League Baseball's Silver Slugger Award winners were announced Wednesday.
The three American League MVP candidates -- Tigers third baseman Miguel Cabrera, Orioles first baseman Chris Davis and Los Angeles Angels outfielder Mike Trout -- and the three National League MVP candidates -- Arizona Diamondbacks first baseman Paul Goldschmidt, Pirates outfielder Andrew McCutchen and Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina -- highlight the list.
Cabrera hit a robust .348 with 44 home runs and 137 RBIs this season, missing out of his second consecutive Triple Crown thanks to Davis, who hit 53 homers with 138 RBIs. Trout batted .323 with 27 home runs and 97 RBIs to go along with his stellar defense. McCutchen hit .317 with 21 homers and 84 RBIs. Goldschmidt hit 36 homers to go along with 125 RBIs and a .302 batting average, while Molina hit .319 with 12 homers and 80 RBIs.
New York Yankees second baseman Robinson Cano, the prize of the upcoming free agent class, won his fourth consecutive award.
Others to repeat as winners were Cabrera, Trout, McCutchen, Cincinnati Reds outfielder Jay Bruce and Washington Nationals shortstop Ian Desmond.
First-time winners were Davis, outfielder Adam Jones and shortstop J.J. Hardy of the Orioles, Goldschmidt, Cardinals second baseman Matt Carpenter and Molina, Pirates third baseman Pedro Alvarez, Colorado Rockies outfielder Michael Cuddyer and Los Angeles Dodgers pitcher Zack Greinke.
The other winners were Minnesota Twins catcher Joe Mauer, Tigers outfielder Torri Hunter and Boston Red Sox designated hitter and World Series MVP David Ortiz.
The awards are given out annually to the best offensive player at each position in each league, as voted on by managers and coaches, who may not vote for their own players.
The Rookie of the Year winners for each league will be announced Monday, then Managers of the Year on Tuesday, the Cy Young Award winners on Nov. 13 and MVPs on Nov. 14.

What to Read Next