Molina wins sixth straight Gold Glove

The Sports Xchange
The SportsXchange

St. Louis Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina won his sixth straight Gold Glove award Tuesday and was one of two Cardinals players to be named the best defensive player at his position in his league.
Cardinals pitcher Adam Wainwright won the Gold Glove as the top defensive pitcher in the National League.
Two members of the Boston Red Sox, the Cardinals' World Series opponent, also won Gold Gloves -- second baseman Dustin Pedroia and right fielder Shane Victorino.
Cincinnati Reds second baseman Brandon Phillips won his fourth Gold Glove.
Colorado Rockies third baseman Nolan Arenado became the 10th rookie to win a Gold Glove and first since Seattle outfielder Ichiro Suzuki did it in 2001.
Atlanta shortstop Andrelton Simmons and Baltimore third baseman Manny Machado were among the eight first-time recipients.
The Orioles and Royals had three winners apiece. Kansas City left fielder Alex Gordon won his third straight Golden Glove, and first baseman Eric Hosmer and catcher Salvador Perez each got his first.
Besides Machado, Baltimore shortstop J.J. Hardy won his second Gold Glove and center fielder Adam Jones took home his third.
The other Gold Glove winner in the American League was Toronto pitcher R.A. Dickey.
In the National League, Milwaukee center fielder Carlos Gomez won a Gold Glove, as did Arizona outfielder Gerardo Parra and Diamondbacks first baseman Paul Goldschmidt. Goldschmidt also won the Hank Aaron Award as the NL's top hitter this season.
Managers and coaches vote for players in their league but cannot select players from their own team. Also, a sabermetric Defensive Index made up about 25 percent of the selection process.

What to Read Next