Lucas Matthysse gets disputed KO over Roberto Ortiz in round two

Scott Christ
SB Nation

Lucas Matthysse didn't have to show much tonight, as he got Roberto Ortiz out at 2:45 of round two on a somewhat controversial knockout.

Lucas Matthysse had an anticlimactic return tonight on Showtime, beating Roberto Ortiz via second round knockout on a body shot, but one that was a bit controversial.

Matthysse (36-3, 34 KO) dropped Ortiz (31-1-1, 24 KO) with a beautiful body shot, and referee Benjy Esteves counted Ortiz out, though Ortiz clearly got up in time. Showtime analyst Paulie Malignaggi argued a fairly nonsensical point about Ortiz spitting out his mouthpiece and being "penalized the extra half a second," which is pure insanity, really, since that's not a rule, or legal, or anything of the sort. If anything, Ortiz could have been docked a point for that, but he got up and was ready to fight on, apparently.

The stoppage was just weird, and most seem to believe Esteves got this one wrong, but it probably just jumped the gun on the inevitable, anyway. Ortiz didn't look like he was really going to bother Matthysse, and this was never figured to be a competitive fight or anything. Just another bag on the trash fire, really.

After the fight, Matthysse again demanded a rematch with Danny Garcia, while Ortiz predictably disputed the decision to stop the fight.

More from sbnation.com:

What to Read Next