Lafayette 82, Lehigh 69

The Sports Xchange
The SportsXchange

Lafayette advanced to the Patriot League tournament championship game with an 82-69 victory over Lehigh on Saturday at Lafayette's Kirby Sports Center.
It was Lafayette's seventh straight victory and marks the first time the Leopards have reached the Patriot League championship game since 2011. The last time Lafayette won the tournament was in 2000, when it beat Navy.
Lafayette improved to 19-14 overall while Lehigh's season ended at 21-9.
Lafayette's Tony Johnson led all scorers with 24 points. Seth Hinrichs added 18 and Dan Trist 13. Lehigh was led by Mackey McKnight (22) and Holden Greiner (16).
Lafayette took a 35-33 lead into halftime. The Leopards were 14 of 27 from the floor, but 3 of 11 from three-point range, while Lehigh made 3 of 7 from beyond the arc.
Lehigh bolted out to a 7-0 lead, before Lafayette scored. The Leopards battled back, and Trist's jumper with 10:35 left in the half gave Lafayette its first lead, 15-14. Lafayette never trailed again.

What to Read Next