Kevin Harvick wins pole while leading a flock of Fords in Texas qualifying

<a class="link rapid-noclick-resp" href="/nascar/sprint/drivers/205/" data-ylk="slk:Kevin Harvick">Kevin Harvick</a> won the pole at Atlanta and dominated. But he finished 9th. (Getty)
Kevin Harvick won the pole at Atlanta and dominated. But he finished 9th. (Getty)

You’re going to have to go to the third row of Sunday’s starting grid to find a driver who doesn’t drive a Ford.

Ford drivers took the top five spots in Friday’s qualifying session at Texas Motor Speedway. The fastest driver was Kevin Harvick, who will start first ahead of Ryan Blaney and teammate Clint Bowyer.

It’s Harvick’s second pole of the season. He started first at Atlanta and dominated the race before a late speeding penalty relegated him to a ninth-place finish. That race was won by Ford driver Brad Keselowski, who also won last week at Martinsville. Keselowski starts fifth, right behind teammate Joey Logano.

The top non-Ford driver is Jamie McMurray, who starts sixth. He’s followed by Martin Truex Jr., Matt Kenseth, Ryan Newman and Kurt Busch.

While Ford dominated the final two rounds of qualifying, the first round of qualifying was defined by the one driver who spun on track and the nine drivers that didn’t get to make a lap. Jimmie Johnson looked all set for a good starting spot until he slid through turns 1 and 2 after making his qualifying attempt in the first round. The slide flat-spotted three of his tires and means he’ll start at the back of the field for Sunday’s race.

He’s joined at the back by the nine drivers who failed to make it through pre-qualifying inspection in time to make a qualifying attempt. Chris Buescher, Kyle Busch, Derrike Cope, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Chase Elliott, Timmy Hill, Erik Jones, Kasey Kahne and Kyle Larson’s cars all didn’t get through tech. They’ll all start at the back based on their points entering Sunday’s race.

Here’s how the field will line up Sunday. Johnson is listed in 24th, but he’ll head to the back before the green flag.

1. Kevin Harvick
2. Ryan Blaney
3. Clint Bowyer
4. Joey Logano
5. Brad Keselowski
6. Jamie McMurray
7. Martin Truex Jr.
8. Matt Kenseth
9. Ryan Newman
10. Kurt Busch
11. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
12. Trevor Bayne
13. Michael McDowell
14. Ty Dillon
15. Landon Cassill
16. AJ Allmendinger
17. Denny Hamlin
18. Aric Almirola
19. Danica Patrick
20. Daniel Suarez
21. David Ragan
22. Paul Menard
23. Corey LaJoie
24. Jimmie Johnson
25. Austin Dillon
26. Matt DiBenedetto
27. JJ Yeley
28. Cole Whitt
29. Gray Gaulding
30. Reed Sorenson
31. Jeffrey Earnhardt
32. Kyle Larson
33. Chase Elliott
34. Kyle Busch
35. Kasey Kahne
36. Erik Jones
37. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
38. Chris Buescher
39. Timmy Hill
40. Derrike Cope

More NASCAR on Yahoo Sports:

– – – – – – –

Nick Bromberg is the editor of Dr. Saturday and From the Marbles on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at or follow him on Twitter!

What to Read Next