Kane, Moulson, St. Louis finalists for Lady Byng Trophy

The Sports Xchange
The SportsXchange

Patrick Kane of the Chicago Blackhawks, Matt Moulson of the New York Islanders and Martin St. Louis of the Tampa Bay Lightning are the finalists for the 2013 Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, awarded "to the player judged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability."
Kane, 24, had just eight penalty minutes this season, despite averaging 20:03 minutes on the ice each game. He scored 23 goals in 47 games, the same number he scored in 82 games last season. During one stretch, Kane went 25 games between penalties.
The 29-year-old Moulson, a finalist last season, had four penalty minutes while finishing second on the team with 44 points and third with 15 goals. He played 47 of 48 games and averaged 19:09 of ice time per game, second among Islanders forwards. After two minor penalties in a two-game span in early February, Moulson then played the final 37 games outside of the penalty box.
Two-time winner St. Louis had 14 penalty minutes while posting a League-high 60 points. He could become the third player in NHL history to win the Lady Byng and Art Ross trophies in the same season, following Wayne Gretzky (1994) and Mikita (1967-68).
The winner is selected by members of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association, who submit ballots at the end of the regular season. The winner will be announced during the 2013 Stanley Cup Final.

What to Read Next