Irish's Kelly selected as coach of year

The Sports Xchange
The SportsXchange

Notre Dame coach Brian Kelly was named college football coach of the year by the Associated Press on Wednesday.
Kelly, who led to the Irish to an undefeated regular season and a BCS championship-game berth, received 25 votes. Penn State's Bill O'Brien was second with 14 votes.
Rounding out the voting were Stanford's David Shaw with four, Texas A&M's Kevin Sumlin with three, Kansas State's Bill Snyder with two and Alabama's Nick Saban with one.
"When you're talking about the coach of the year, there's so many things that go into it," Kelly said, according to reports. "I know it's an individual award and it goes to one guy, but the feelings that I get from it is you're building the right staff, that you've got the right players and to me that is a validation of the program. That you put together the right business plan."
In his third season in South Bend, Kelly has led Notre Dame to its first BCS championship game and its first shot at a national title since 1988.

What to Read Next