Important: Darren Clarke drops his gum mid-putt, chews it again

IMPORTANT BRITISH OPEN NEWS: Darren Clarke dropped his gum and then ate it again.

The 2011 Open champion was putting when the gum dropped from his mouth. After examination, Clarke invoked the R&A’s Rule 5.0 and popped it back in his mouth. Good thing the gum didn’t hit the ball, or we’d have ourselves a hell of a rules mess.

Never ever forget golf is serious business.

Jay Busbee is a writer for Yahoo Sports and the author of EARNHARDT NATION, on sale now at Amazon or wherever books are sold. Contact him at or find him on Twitter or on Facebook.

What to Read Next