Goal fans name Tusker star for midfielder Award


Goal readers have named Tusker ace Humphrey Mieno midfielder of the year for 2016 season.

According to a poll run by Goal, the former AFC Leopards and Sofapaka player beat his rivals after bagging 42.9 percent of the votes cast. Mathare United midfielder Erick Johanna is second after collecting 31.4% votes while Kenneth Muguna of Western Stima is third on 20%.

AFC Leopards set eye on signing Tusker defender

Anthony Kimani of Bandari as 5.7% votes as Hillary Echesa of Chemelil Sugar comes last on zero votes. On Monday, the fans rooted for Gor Mahia youngster Erick ‘Marcelo’ Ouma to win defender of the year Award. The Kakamega High School alumnus, who joined K’Ogalo early 2016, beat five rivals to the race garnering 54.2% of the total votes cast.

His closest rivals in Mathare United defender George ‘Wise’ Owino and Tusker FC ace Shafiq Batambuze were tied at 11.1% while Gor Mahia’s Karim Nizigiyimana and Sofapaka’s Noah Abich got 8.3% apiece.

2016 KPL Awards: Gor Mahia ace nominated for MVP

Posta Rangers defender Joackins Atudo got a paltry 6.9% to come last in the race.

What to Read Next