Gateway, New Hampshire return to NASCAR Camping World Truck Series in 2014

The Sports Xchange
The SportsXchange

Staff Report, NASCAR Wire Service
Distributed by the Sports Xchange

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. - A return to a pair of tracks absent for several years and a repeat date on the dirt at Eldora Speedway highlight the 22-race NASCAR Camping World Truck Series schedule for 2014.
Gateway International Raceway near St. Louis, which hosted series races from 1998-2010 with only one repeat winner in its 13-race history, will hold its 2014 race on June 14. The 1.25-mile oval is independently owned by St. Louis native Curtis Francois.
After a two-year hiatus, New Hampshire Motor Speedway likewise returns to the schedule on Sept. 20. The 1.058-mile oval held truck racing from 1996-2011. It is back as part of a companion weekend during the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup.
"We're excited to have the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series return to Gateway and to the St. Louis area, which is such a racing hotbed," said Steve O'Donnell, NASCAR senior vice president of racing operations. "With the return to New Hampshire, it will be great for fans to see more of what the trucks are known for - close racing at shorter, tighter venues."
In 2013, Eldora, the 0.5-mile dirt track owned by three-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Tony Stewart held the first NASCAR national series dirt race since 1970. A standing-room only crowd of 20,000 fans watched history as 2011 series championship Austin Dillon captured the victory.
Also returning after a wildly successful debut in 2013 is the Canadian Tire Motorsports Park road course - where the series made its first international appearance. A wild, final lap battle saw Chase Elliott - son of NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Champion Bill Elliott, win the event.
Next season's schedule features one date shift, with the series racing at Kansas Speedway on May 9, the first night race for the series at the 1.5-mile track. Iowa Speedway, which staged two races this season, will host a single, stand-alone event on July 12.
The balance of the series' 20th season mirrors that of 2013 - opening with Daytona International Speedway on Feb. 21 and ending on Nov. 14at Homestead-Miami Speedway.


Date Site

Feb. 21 Daytona International Speedway

March 29 Martinsville Speedway

May 9 Kansas Speedway

May 16 Charlotte Motor Speedway

May 30 Dover International Speedway

June 6 Texas Motor Speedway

June 14 Gateway Motorsports Park

June 26 Kentucky Speedway

July 12 Iowa Speedway

July 23 Eldora Speedway

Aug. 2 Pocono Raceway

Aug.16 Michigan International Speedway

Aug. 20 Bristol Motor Speedway

Aug. 31 Canadian Tire Motorsport Park

Sept. 12 Chicagoland Speedway

Sept. 20 New Hampshire Motor Speedway

Sept. 27 Las Vegas Motor Speedway

Oct. 18 Talladega Superspeedway

Oct. 25 Martinsville Speedway

Oct. 31 Texas Motor Speedway

Nov. 7 Phoenix International Raceway

Nov. 14 Homestead-Miami Speedway

What to Read Next