Four Seminoles on AP All-America first team

The Sports Xchange
The SportsXchange

Top-ranked Florida State had four players, including Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback Jameis Winston, make the Associated Press' All-America first team.
In results announced Tuesday, Seminoles senior cornerback Lamarcus Joyner, senior center Bryan Stork and freshman kicker Roberto Aguayo joined Winston, a redshirt freshman, on the first team.
Florida State also put two players on the second team: junior defensive tackle Timmy Jernigan and junior offensive tackle Cameron Erving.
Three players repeated on the first team: Arizona State senior defensive tackle Will Sutton, Alabama senior linebacker C.J. Mosley and Arizona junior running back Ka'Deem Carey.
Joining Winston and Carey in the first-team backfield are two other Heisman finalists: Boston College senior running back Andre Williams and Northern Illinois senior quarterback Jordan Lynch, who received an "all-purpose" All-America designation.
The first-team pass-catchers are Texas Tech senior tight end Jace Amaro, Oregon State junior wide receiver Brandin Cooks and Texas A&M sophomore wide receiver Mike Evans.
In addition to Erving, the first-team All-America offensive line consists of Texas A&M senior tackle Jake Matthews, Alabama junior tackle Cyrus Kouandijo, Stanford senior guard David Yankey and Baylor senior guard Cyril Richardson.
The defensive line features Sutton, Pittsburgh senior defensive tackle Aaron Donald, Texas senior defensive end Jackson Jeffcoat and Missouri senior defensive end Michael Sam.
The first-team linebackers are Mosley, Ohio State junior Ryan Shazier and UCLA senior Anthony Barr.
The defensive backfield consists of Joyner, Michigan State senior cornerback Darqueze Dennard, Washington State senior safety Deone Bucannon, and Mississippi junior safety Cody Prewitt.
Memphis senior Tom Hornsey is the first-team punter.
The Seminoles' opponent in the upcoming BCS national-title game, had no players on the AP first team and just one on the second team, running back Tre' Mason, a Heisman finalist.
Last year's Heisman winner, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, heads this year's AP second team. The third-team quarterback is Alabama's AJ McCarron. Both Manziel and McCarron were Heisman finalists this season.

What to Read Next