The crowd cheered at Staples Center and it seemed like Brown had cut San Jose’s lead to 3-1, except the referee didn’t signal a goal and play continued on.
Then the game was abruptly stopped and the official announced the good goal by Brown. In the video of the goal, it’s clear that Brown tucked the puck under the crossbar behind Jones.
Sportsnet’s John Shannon pointed out that play was stopped because of rule 38.7, which states the following:
Should the Video Goal Judge (in cooperation with the Toronto Video Room) be able to determine that a goal was legitimately scored through the use of video replay prior to the next stoppage of play, the in arena horn shall be sounded to stop the play. The game clock (and penalty clocks, if applicable) shall be reset to the time of the goal.
The goal was Brown’s fourth of the 2016-17 and continued a nice bounce-back season that has seen his numbers tick upwards after three straight down years.
The Sharks ended up beating the Kings 4-1 behind 26 saves by Martin Jones.
– – – – – – –
MORE FROM YAHOO SPORTS