Cowboys TE Witten wins Bart Starr Award

The Sports Xchange
The SportsXchange

Dallas Cowboys tight end Jason Witten will receive the Bart Starr Award given annually to an NFL player for outstanding character and leadership off the field.
Witten will be presented with the honor at a Super Bowl breakfast on Feb. 1 in New Orleans.
Other finalists for the award were Tennessee Titans quarterback Matt Hasselbeck and New York Giants defensive end Justin Tuck.
Among Witten's charitable endeavors are his SCORE Foundation, which supports various domestic-violence outreach programs and building projects in Texas and his native Tennessee.
The award, which is named after Pro Football Hall of Fame and former Green Bay quarterback Bart Starr, is voted on by NFL players. Previous winners include London Fletcher, Drew Brees, Kurt Warner, LaDainian Tomlinson, Reggie White and Mike Singletary.

What to Read Next