Bruno Fornaroli crowned Goal Australia's A-League Player of the Year

Melbourne City striker Bruno Fornaroli has won Goal Australia’s A-League Player of the Year as voted by you - the fans.

The Uruguayan forward, who scored 25 goals in his maiden A-League campaign, earned 38.4 per cent of the vote, edging out team-mate Aaron Mooy (36.2%) for the award.

Brisbane Roar striker Jamie Maclaren, Marcelo Carrusca of Adelaide United and Johnny Warren Medallist Diego Castro of Perth Glory shared third position with 6.5 per cent of the vote.

Scroll to continue with content

Fornaroli set a new record for goal-scoring this season, with 23 in the regular season, cruising past Besart Berisha’s previous best mark of 19 with Brisbane in 2010-11.

In the first week of the 2015-16 finals, Fornaroli added another two goals - becoming the first player to score 25 in a campaign, including finals.

Those two goals were amongst his best in a City shirt, with the 28-year-old executing a bicycle kick in the first half against Perth Glory and then slotting a free-kick into the top corner after the break.

The man known as ‘El Tuna’ - ‘the Prickly Pear’ in Spanish - wasn’t just a finisher either, having notched five assists and created 34 chances throughout the season.



What to Read Next